Moscow taxi service

Поиск:

Главная - События - Ссылки

Главная > Памятники > Шерлок Холмс и доктор Ватсон

Памятник Шерлоку Холмсу и доктору Ватсону

Sherlock Holmes
1 Мая, 2007
нажмите для увеличения
Памятник Шерлоку Холмсу и доктору Ватсону появился в Москве перед зданием британского посольства на Смоленской набережной. Сыщик Шерлок Холмс и его верный друг доктор Ватсон давно стали олицетворением Британии в глазах россиян.

Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson
1 Мая, 2007
нажмите для увеличения
Среди московских архитекторов был объявлен закрытый конкурс, который определил лучшее скульптурное воплощение популярных литературных героев. Прототипом для скульптора Андрея Орлова послужили образы героев Артура Конан Дойля, созданные первым иллюстратором книги Сидни Пейджетом. Кроме того, в скульптурах явно прослеживается сходство с великими русскими актерами Василием Ливановым и Виталием Соломиным, которые сыграли сыщика и его друга на российском экране. В мире было более 200 экранизаций приключений знаменитого сыщика, но самой лучшей оказалась русская. Народный артист России Василий Ливанов за лучшее воплощение образа Шерлока Холмса был награжден королевой Елизаветой П Орденом Британской империи.

Московская скульптурная композиция - единственная в мире, где популярные герои Конан Дойля предстают перед публикой вместе. Они воссозданы в натуральную величину (на памятник ушло 800 кг бронзы). Шерлок Холмс стоит возле лавочки, на которую присел доктор Ватсон. Между ними есть пространство, которое позволяет сфотографироваться в их компании.

Sherlock Holmes
1 Мая, 2007
нажмите для увеличения
В 2007 году исполнилось 120 лет с момента выхода в свет повести Конан Дойля о приключениях Шерлока Холмса "Этюд в багровых тонах". Открытие памятника было приурочено к этой памятной дате. Установка скульптурной группы на Смоленской набережной стала еще одним мостом между культурами Великобритании и России.

Doctor Watson
1 Мая, 2007
нажмите для увеличения
Памятник героям Конан Дойля сооружен в рамках проекта «Народные герои в скульптурных композициях» международного благотворительного общественного фонда «Диалог культур - единый мир». Памятник Шерлоку Холмсу и доктору Ватсону - уже третий памятник героям мировой литературы в российской столице. В 2004 году в рамках проекта недалеко от метро "Молодежная" появился памятник с неунывающим бароном Мюнхгаузеном, вытаскивающим себя из болота, а в 2006 году на Ярцевской улице - памятник Ходже Насреддину, легендарному мудрецу и острослову.


Вернуться к началу страницы

 
Использование фотографии в интернете разрешается только при наличии текстовой гиперссылки на сайт www.moscow-photos.com
При этом ставить в известность вебмастера сайта не обязательно.
Использование фотографии в печатных изданиях или ТВ без письменного разрешения автора запрещается.

Moscow Photos

Moscow taxi service





Search:

Home - Events - Site map - Links

Home > Monuments > Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson

The monument to Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson

Sherlock Holmes
May 1, 2007
click to enlarge
The monument to Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson has emerged in Moscow in front of the British Embassy on the Smolenskaya embankment. Detective Sherlock Holmes and his true friend Doctor Watson have long become the embodiment of Britain in the eyes of Russians.

Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson
May 1, 2007
click to enlarge
The closed competition was carried out among the Moscow architects that determined the best sculptural personification of the popular literary heroes. The prototype for the sculpture of Andrey Orlov have become the characters of heroes of Arthur Conan Doyle made by the first illustrator of the book Sidney Paget. Besides, in sculptures the resemblance to great Russian actors Vasily Livanov and Vitaly Solomin, who played the detective and his friend on Russian screen can be clearly traced. More than 200 screen versions of adventures of the famous detective have been done in the world, but the Russian one turned out to be the best. People's artist of Russia Vasily Livanov for the best embodiment of the character of Sherlock Holmes was decorated by Queen Elizabeth II with the Order of the British Empire.

The Moscow sculptural composition is the only one in the world where the popular heroes of Conan Doyle appear before the public together. They have been made in actual size (800 kg of bronze was used for the monument). Sherlock Holmes stands near the small bench, on which Doctor Watson has taken a seat. There is a space in between them allowing you to take picture in their company.

Sherlock Holmes
May 1, 2007
click to enlarge
2007 celebrated the 120th anniversary since the story of Conan Doyle about adventures of Sherlock Holmes "A Study In Scarlet" saw the light. Unveiling of the monument was timed to that memorable date. Installation of the sculptural group on the Smolenskaya embankment has become another bridge between the cultures of Great Britain and Russia.

Doctor Watson
May 1, 2007
click to enlarge
The monument to the heroes of Conan Doyle has been erected within the framework of project Peoples' heroes in sculptural compositions of the international charitable public fund Dialogue of cultures one world. The monument to Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson is the third monument to the heroes of world literature in the Russian capital. In 2004 within the framework of the project near the Metro station Molodezhnaya there appeared a monument to resilient baron Munchhausen, pulling himself out of the bog, and in 2006 on Yartsevskaya street the monument to Hodja Nasreddin, legendary wise and witty man.




Jump to the top of the page

 
Using of the photos from this site on the Internet is permitted only with the textual hyperlink to the site www.moscow-photos.com
It's not necessary to inform the webmaster of this site about that.
Using of the photos in printed editions or TV without the written permission of the author is prohibited.
You can print a copy for yourself, but not for further reproduction or sale.
In any case you can always ask for a hi-res photo here.